• Teaser
  • Dates for eISR 2020 Confirmed

    Email Expressions of Interest to Compete to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

European International Submarine Races

The fifth biennial European International Submarine Race (eISR) will take place from the 7th to the 17th of July 2020 in Gosport, England. Teams of University students will race their human-powered submarines against the clock around a demanding slalom course in a unique sporting and engineering challenge.

The basic rules of the sport are straightforward - teams must design, build and race flooded submarines piloted by a single scuba diver, who must be fully enclosed within the hull of the machine. All propulsion power must be provided by the diver during the race (i.e. no energy storage devices such as flywheels or batteries are allowed), but otherwise the design rules are open to whatever innovation teams decide to use.